Demisexuality and Mental Health, related.

  1. How has being on the ace spectrum impacted your mental health?

Remaining sexually inactive was a badge of shame. Especially after graduating from high school, and then college. It was one of the insecurities I’ve wrestled with in my adolescence.

Realising there was such a thing as a group of people who don’t or rarely want to have sex was a boost of confidence to me in a time when I was trying to figure out an erratic sexuality that seemed to obey an odd set of rules.

I think for me, most of all, my mental health – or rather, my emotional health – impacted my place on the ace spectrum. At a time when I was depressed, I had no sexual drive. Now that I feel good about myself and the world, I have a low sexual drive.

Being demisexual means having a libido that’s essentially a hitchhiker that cheerily rides along with emotional attachment. The deeper the bonds you create with non-family members, the more likely you are to find someone you both love and want to have sex with… or trust enough to desire.

About demiandproud

I am a demisexual Christian Dutchwoman who explores the vagaries of what the intersection of those identities means. On my main blog I post a few times a month, my favourite being participating in the Carnival of Aces. I'm exploring writing about my orientation elsewhere. The pride flag in my profile picture was created with 4 eye pencils (black, purple, silver and white).

Posted on June 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment

That Weird Ace Woman

Another angry Millennial internet queer

The Court of Ranternal Affairs

A Website of Wonky and Rustic Beauty by Calum P Cameron (he/him)

This blog is Ace

A blog about asexuality and other A things

The Asexual Agenda

Furthering upper-level discussions of asexuality

A Carnival of Aros

An Aromantic / Aro-Spec Blogging Carnival

Queering Closeness

Thoughts on the intersection of aromantic and polyamorous experiences