Demisexuality and Mental Health, the secret weapon.

5. Are there any particular types of therapy that work better or worse for you? Or, are there any alternatives to therapy (like peer support groups) that you’ve used? Are there any other things that act as barriers to treatment for you?

My family was crucial. My parents loved me without reserve and this was the time I felt it. They gave me the space I required to express negative emotions. They supported me when I wasn’t able to do groceries or get out of bed on time. They gave me the space and time to recover.

They did not accept bullshit, however. They clearly communicated what they could and couldn’t do, not expecting me to ‘just know’. For all of us, it was uncharted territory.

And familial love was a powerful foundation to start rebuilding my life and activities once I had figured out the issues that were plaguing me.

A friend or partner could fill this role, as well, but it deepens the relationship to a degree of intimacy rarely present in a relationship where both people are healthy throughout. It’s good to keep that in mind, and discuss in advance if you’d want that, and if they consent.

About demiandproud

I am a demisexual Christian Dutchwoman who explores the vagaries of what the intersection of those identities means. On my main blog I post a few times a month, my favourite being participating in the Carnival of Aces. I'm exploring writing about my orientation elsewhere. The pride flag in my profile picture was created with 4 eye pencils (black, purple, silver and white).

Posted on June 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment

That Weird Ace Woman

Another angry Millennial internet queer

The Court of Ranternal Affairs

A Website of Wonky and Rustic Beauty by Calum P Cameron (he/him)

This blog is Ace

A blog about asexuality and other A things

The Asexual Agenda

Furthering upper-level discussions of asexuality

A Carnival of Aros

An Aromantic / Aro-Spec Blogging Carnival

Queering Closeness

Thoughts on the intersection of aromantic and polyamorous experiences