When guilty of ignorant bullshit, keep calm

I’ve a made a few promises to myself about writing on the internet. Guard your privacy. Be honest. Be constructive. Don’t sneakily take down or edit content. Don’t contribute to the ignorant bullshit out there. You’re going to make mistakes. Relax, you’re just human, so’s everyone else. And don’t feed the troll. Ever.

I went and posted unresearched bullshit in my last “Unstraightening my facts” post. This was pointed out to me with patience and tact, complete with helpful reading suggestions.

After letting my first and second thoughts pass, “Oh God, I’m really wrong, aren’t I?” and “I don’t ever want to post again” (3 AM is not a good moment for making big or small choices)…

I deleted the post and left up the comments.

Because “don’t contribute bullshit” was more important to me than “content must be genuine” and more in line with “be constructive”.

This post is in part for the reader who might going to come along and be like “wtf the empty post about?” and for honesty’s sake. Mostly it’s for me, because I do want to keep posting, and I do want to keep talking about demisexuality and asexuality and identities and relationships.

I couldn’t, with that still up there. So I’m exercising my control of my bitty corner of the internet, and talking it down.

TL;DR: Post was bad. I deleted post.

Posted on August 22, 2015, in Personal reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ❤ That is a tough thing, always, when you realize you no longer stand behind something you wrote and published somewhere. It might be worth it in the future to consider just adding a disclaimer at the top, indicating that you no longer agree with things and possibly stating explicitly what you're stance has changed to. But your comfort levels may vary from mine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Reconstructionist

a meta-contrarian look at gender and sj

A Hat Full of Ness

Because I Have Words: Surviving Postgraduate Study in the UK

Myscape

I'm just here to write my very best

Prismatic Entanglements

dew-covered spider web of metaphorical condensed thoughts

Genderweird

An autistic, asexual, gender neutral person exploring life beyond the gender binary.

Reflective Ace

Reflections on identity and other stuff

Asexuality in A Sexual World

A blog about being asexual in a sex - saturated world

Beauty In Bundles

Reviews, beauty, random musings, oh my!

