Fantasy flash fic #6: Domestic

When I open my eyes I am on the sofa, still dressed and you in a chair, crick in your neck. I fail to rub the sleep out of my face and the pain out of my lower back while you blink and take in the ceiling.

“Omelet?” I ask.

“Tomatoes and peas, please.” Your shoulders crack and sleepy warmth pins my hip and arm to the counter.

I smile. The more veg your food is, the lighter your heart. I hip-check you out of my way and make us breakfast while you shower.

“My turn for dinner?” you ask, halfway through the omelet.

I nod. “Jenny’s coming as well.” When you grumble I shoot a pea at you nose and you flick drops of lukewarm tea at me.

When you put down your fork I snatch clothes from my room before you can hog it again to play with your hair. “Oy!” you say from yours and I laugh at you.

Posted on July 26, 2015, in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

The Reconstructionist

a meta-contrarian look at gender and sj

A Hat Full of Ness

Because I Have Words: Surviving Postgraduate Study in the UK

Myscape

I'm just here to write my very best

Prismatic Entanglements

dew-covered spider web of metaphorical condensed thoughts

Genderweird

An autistic, asexual, gender neutral person exploring life beyond the gender binary.

Reflective Ace

Reflections on identity and other stuff

Asexuality in A Sexual World

A blog about being asexual in a sex - saturated world

Beauty In Bundles

Reviews, beauty, random musings, oh my!

