Fantasy flash fic #2: Intellectual

Mere words translate into facets of a concept, slotting into the structure you’ve spent the past few hours building in my mind.

I straighten a sore back and tighten feet frozen in curls around chair legs.

I do not verbalise questions before you launch into their answers. We have established who sends and who receives today, I only bounce back short summaries to check I am following.

An amused waitress stops by long enough to pour more coffee in our cups and sweep her eyes over us to save the tableau for an observation later, when we pay, back from our little world of two.

Our eyebrows will have travelled miles over our foreheads before we sit back, breathless, exhilarated. Minds released from their rapport.

Come home, when asked, I will not have words to explain dates without touching, intimacy without physicality.

I will pause, hesitant, until the memory of your idea asserts itself and leave me thinking and reshaping it for hours.

Posted on July 19, 2015, in Creative writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

The Reconstructionist

a meta-contrarian look at gender and sj

A Hat Full of Ness

Because I Have Words: Surviving Postgraduate Study in the UK

Myscape

I'm just here to write my very best

Prismatic Entanglements

dew-covered spider web of metaphorical condensed thoughts

Genderweird

An autistic, asexual, gender neutral person exploring life beyond the gender binary.

Reflective Ace

Reflections on identity and other stuff

Asexuality in A Sexual World

A blog about being asexual in a sex - saturated world

Beauty In Bundles

Reviews, beauty, random musings, oh my!

